SouthState Appoints New Group Presidents

SouthState new consumer and small business banking.
WINTER HAVEN, Florida – November 1, 2023 – SouthState Bank announces the promotion of three state leaders in response to the upcoming retirement of three senior bankers.

SouthState congratulates Central Banking Group President Jack Goettee, Northern Banking Group President Bryan Kennedy, and President of Mortgage and Wealth Tom Ledbetter on their years of leadership and service. They have led SouthState to remarkable industry success and plan to retire December 31, 2023, with more than a century of banking experience between them.

Upon these retirements, SouthState takes the opportunity to promote three leaders within the Commercial Bank to better support both bankers and customers. Jay Reagan has been named group president of North Carolina and Virginia. Evans Quinlivan will serve as group president of Alabama and greater Georgia, and Bill Medich has been named group president of South Carolina.

Jay Reagan joined SouthState in 2006 and has held key positions across the footprint including James Island city executive, Spartanburg city executive, Piedmont regional president, director of commercial banking development and execution, and most recently, serving as the North Carolina state president. He is an alumnus of Clemson University and the Graduate School of Banking at LSU. Reagan has been active in the community throughout his career and currently sits on the executive board of the Mecklenburg County Council of the Boy Scouts of America.

Bill Medich, promoted to Banking Group president, remains responsible for SouthState’s operations in South Carolina. A graduate of the Graduate School of Banking at LSU and the University of South Carolina, he joined SouthState 18 years ago. Medich serves his community as a member of the Palmetto Business Forum, SouthArts board member, and chair emeritus of the Spoleto Festival USA. He is also past board chair of the Coastal Community Foundation, the Gibbes Museum of Art, and the College of Charleston Foundation. Additionally, Medich is a Liberty Fellow, class of 2007.

Evans Quinlivan joined SouthState in 2010, with his banking career beginning in 1984. He’s also served as a market president in North Alabama for First American Bank, Huntsville president for Southtrust Bank, and market president for AmSouth Bank. Quinlivan holds degrees from the University of Alabama and the Graduate School of Banking at LSU. In the community, he currently serves as chairman of the Von Braun Center Board of Control, served as the first chairman of Downtown Huntsville, Inc., and has served on numerous other boards and committees in the Huntsville community over his career.

These new group presidents will also join SouthState’s Operating Committee.

SouthState Corporation (NASDAQ: SSB) is a financial services company headquartered in Winter Haven, Florida. SouthState Bank, N.A., the company’s nationally chartered bank subsidiary, provides consumer, commercial, mortgage and wealth management solutions to more than one million customers throughout Florida, Alabama, Georgia, the Carolinas and Virginia. The bank also serves clients coast to coast through its correspondent banking division. Additional information is available at

Secure Log In

Close login menu
Login Error

Your username is valid but has a problem. Please call customer support

Our website uses cookies to ensure your online experience is as informative and relevant as possible. Please review our Privacy Policy to learn more about the information we collect.